The Great TOMS and BOBS debate

by lizzikmund

This morning my husband told me about how Skechers has come out with a new shoe called BOBs and how they are a complete copy of TOMS. At first I was angry, how could they totally rip off something that is so wonderful, but after a day of educating myself I realized I shouldn’t be angry.

I am a very big supporter of TOMS, I love everything about them. TOMS founder Blake Mycoskie encountered children that were in need of shoes and from that experience he founded TOMS, so children could have shoes. Every pair of TOMS purchased sends a pair of shoes to a child, One for One.

I’ve never been a fan of Skechers, but I can’t completely bash them. Although they completely stole the idea of BOBS from TOMS, it isn’t the first time it’s happened. Everyone gets ideas from other people, everything’s already been done. Even though BOBS isn’t creative or original, it still gives shoes to those who need them. Skechers has partnered with Soles4Souls which has given over 10 million shoes in over 125 countries.

In the end children in need and getting shoes on their feet, how can one be angry about the amazing fact.

Compare the two (from Digital Mom Blog)

https://i0.wp.com/www.digitalmomblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/toms-vs-bobs.png

https://i0.wp.com/www.digitalmomblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/sketchers-bobs-not-toms.jpg

Womens Yellow Bridgeport Linen Classics TOMS Shoes Side

Just from the photos in my opinion TOMS still look better, and I’d chose TOMS over BOBS if it were based on looks alone. I will always buy TOMS and recommend them to everyone.

I do encourage everyone to look into Soles4Souls and see what you can do to help. I just can’t bring myself to ever buy BOBS and will wear TOMS proudly!

Here are some other articles to check out on the same topic.

Digital Mom Blog

Christ The Center

Stuff Christians Like